Earlier this month, Khloe Kardashian and her sisters Kim Kardashian and Kourtney Kardashian visited Borders for a book signing for their new book, "Kardashian Konfidential," in Los Angeles. Khloe looked great wearing a black printed maxi dress by Faith Connexion paired with black heels by...

From the New York Times Book Review: The 10 Best Books of 2010. First up, fiction: FREEDOM By Jonathan Franzen. Farrar, Straus & Giroux, $28. The author of "The Corrections" is back, not quite a decade later, with an even richer and deeper work — a vividly realized narrative set during the...

Book Reviews is on unexpected hiatus this month, but here is a glimpse of what to expect next month. Kimberly Chrisman-Campbell described well the challenges in choosing, locating, and paying for images in her Worn Throughguest post on publishing in February. When reading through or perusing...

methods are not comparable to the traditional peer-review process, they do play an important role in getting us noticed (I plan to explore the role of blogging in a later post). However, the role of the book review remains ambiguous to many PhD students and early career academics. Book...

The true purpose of this post isn't even a book review, but rather to take an element of the book and incorporate it into my own writing, to review Patchett's most salient fiction technique and reflect on it. What's my takeaway from State of Wonder? Character. Barbara Bovender, a Bohemian...

Detail from my ancestor's dress Book Reviews is on break this month, but here is a preview of sorts for next month's review, London Society Fashion, 1905-1920: The Wardrobe of Heather Firbank, also mentioned in Michelle's summer reading post earlier this month. The introduction to London...

I love reading and after receiving a Kindle for Christmas, I decided to start book reviews on my blog. These will be up a couple of days after I've finished a book. The latest book I've read was Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. Based in the 1930s, Jacob Jankowski was days away from...

Last week in New York City, the fabulous Kardashian sisters brought some heat to the chilly city when they arrived ready to sign copies of their newest book endeavor, Kardashian Konfidential. Fans of Kourtney, Kim, and Khloe get a sneak peek into personal family stories of the girls growing up...

Book Review: The Beautiful Fall: Lagerfeld, Saint Laurent, and Glorious Excess in 1970s Paris My friend Serge Jean lent me this book a few months ago given that my next novel will take place in the world of Paris fashion. It took me some time to get to it, but once I started reading, I...

As I mentioned in my first book review for Worn Through, I believe the recreation of historical garments is a useful way to get closer to the study of dress, especially as museums tighten their research policies. Both the making and the wearing are direct and physical interactions with the...

 

Related shopping